- Advertisement -
HomePoliticsOkorocha, Nwawuba, Chiji, Imo Lawmakers who may not win reelection in 2023

Okorocha, Nwawuba, Chiji, Imo Lawmakers who may not win reelection in 2023

- Advertisement -

As the 2023 General Elections draws near, Imo would only be holding elections for the Senate, House of Representatives and the State Assembly.

Due to the ruling of the Supreme Court on the 12th of January 2020, nullifying the administration of Rt Hon Emeka Ihedioha, the governorship election in Imo would hold on a later date.

Several lawmakers in Imo, may however not return to their current positions in 2023.

The first on that list would be the former governor of Imo State, who is now the Senator representing Orlu zone, Rochas Okorocha.

Okorocha has declared his interest to contest for the All Progressives Congress APC Presidential ticket, with hopes of succeeding President Muhammadu Buhari, when his tenure expires in 2023.

Due to his desire to aspire for the presidency of the country, Okorocha will most likely not be returning to the Senate come 2023.

His co-senators Ezenwa Onyewuchi and Frank Ibezim may find it very difficult securing their parties tickets and may not even get to the election proper.

While Onyewuchi is faced with a more powerful opponent for the ticket, in the person of Uche Onyeagocha, Frank Ibezim may have a former governor of Imo State, Dr Ikedi Ohakim to contend with.

Their odds aren’t looking good.

In the House of Representatives, the Mbaitoli Ikeduru lawmaker, Hon Henry Nwawuba is facing resistance from within his party and beyond, as he attempts to return to the National Assembly for a third term.

His colleagues Ugonna Ozurigbo, Kingsley Uju and Pascal Obi all of whom are loyal to Okorocha and recently dumped the APC for the PDP, may be faced with an uphill task, in their desire to return to the Green Chamber.

Already out of the race in the State Assembly is Uche Ogbuagu, who is aspiring for the National Assembly.

His other colleagues such as Arthur Egwim (Ideato North), Ngozi Obiefule (Isu), former speaker Paul Emeziem (Onuimo) and Michael Njoku (Ihitte Uboma), are also eyeing the National Assembly and may not be returning to the State Assembly in 2023.

In the case of former speaker Chiji Collins, the youths of Isiala Mbano in a video that went viral, opposed his third term bid.

The lawmaker out of anger, would throw away the Kolanut set before him.

His chances of returning to the State Assembly for a third term is very slim.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Stay Connected
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here